international motorsports hall of fame

Click here to see all of the art in the IMHOF inventory

In 1990 UNOCAL commissioned Jeanne to create portraits for International Motorsports Hall of Fame, housed in Talladega, Alabama, at the site of the Talladega Speedway. There are, as of 2007, 116 graphite renderings of their inductees. Inductees into this prestigious body are selected from a world-wide format of racing.

International Motorsports Hall of Fame Seventeenth Annual Induction (2007)

Dale EarnhardtBruton Smith (1927 - )

A car salesman and local auto racing promoter in the Charlotte, NC, area, Bruton Smith partnered with stock car legend Curtis Turner to build Charlotte Motor Speedway. The track opened on June 19, 1960, with a 600-mile NASCAR race, and has continuously set the standard for motorsports entertainment. Smith’s innovative style brought many never-before-seen amenities, including condominiums, plush VIP suites, and a country-club style restaurant that overlooks the speedway. He also added a revolutionary lighting system that made it possible to host the first night race on a modem superspeedway. Smith purchased Atlanta Motor Speedway in 1990 and founded Speedway Motorsports, Inc. in 1994 by consolidating his motorsports holdings. In February 1995, SMI became the first motorsports company to trade on the New York Stock Exchange. The company grew to include Atlanta Motor Speedway, Bristol Motor Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Lowe’s Motor Speedway, Infineon Raceway, and Texas Motor Speedway. In addition to his motorsports interests, Smith built one of the nation’s largest automobile dealership groups and founded Speedway Children’s Charities, which aids local organizations that improve the quality of life for children.

Harry GantJack Ingram (1936 - )

“Ironman” Jack Ingram was one of the dominant drivers in the old Grand National Series (Late Model Sportsman Series), and didn’t miss a beat when NASCAR introduced its new Busch Series in 1982, winning the very first championship. Ingram, from Asheville, NC, claimed his first Late Model Sportsman Series championship in 1972, and it was no accident. Ingram spent the five previous years racing at many of the same tracks on which the championship was contested, learning them and how to set his car up to race on them. He won that first title by 1,650 points over Tony Bettenhausen, Jr. It also ended a string of three straight championships by Red Farmer, and began Ingram's own streak of three in a row. His fourth title came in the first year of the Busch Series, and his fifth and final one came in 1985. At the time of his retirement in 1991, Ingram was the Busch Series all-time win leader with 31. In his career, he won hundreds of races, including the Daytona Permatex 300 twice (1975 and 1980), and captured many track championships.

Janet GuthrieJunie Donlavey (1924 - )

In his entire career as a stock car racer and owner, Junie Donlavey never strayed far from his Richmond, Va., home, but his influence and reputation for giving drivers a chance to compete at NASCAR’s highest level were known far and wide. The number of famous drivers that have wheeled Donlavey’s No. 90 car would fill a record book, including Joe Weatherly, Tiny Lund, LeeRoy Yarbrough, Dick Brooks, Bobby Isaac, Fred Lorenzen, David Pearson, Johnny Rutherford, Harry Gant, Buddy Baker, Charlie Glotzbach and Ricky Rudd. It was, however, Donlavey’s willingness to turn his car over to rookie drivers that gained him the most notoriety. Bill Dennis in 1970, Jody Ridley in 1980, and Ken Schrader in 1985 took Rookie of the Year honors in Junie’s No. 90. Ridley finished fifth in the Winston Cup points in ’81, and also gave Donlavey his only Cup win at Dover. In all, 60 different drivers drove in Cup races for Donlavey before he closed his shop in 2005.

Jack RoushRay Hendrick (1929 - 1990)

Ray Hendrick ranks as one of the greatest stock car drivers that ever raced consistently on the NASCAR Winston Cup/Grand National circuits. His inclusion among NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers attests to that. The bulk of his more than 700 wins came in modified and late-model sportsman racing. Born in the racing hotbed of Richmond, Va., Hendrick quickly became a legend, winning everywhere from Talladega, Charlotte, Pocono, Dover, Richmond, and Martinsville to Trenton, Beltsville, South Boston, and Metrolina. He raced against, and beat, some of the best drivers in every major stock car series. His closest brush with a national championship came in 1966, when he finished second in the national modified points. Hendrick filled his schedule by taking every good opportunity that presented itself to race in various series, and therefore never undertook a full-time campaign in NASCAR’s top series. Yet in his 17 Winston Cup starts, he posted two top 5s and six top 10s.

 H. A. “Humpy” WheelerWarren Johnson (1943 - )

There very likely has never been anyone else in the history of drag racing that studied every aspect of the sport like Warren Johnson does, and it has paid off handsomely for the Minnesota native known as “The Professor.” Johnson has posted the most wins (96) of any Pro Stock driver in National Hot Rod Association (NHRA) history, placing him second on the all-time win list behind John Force. Johnson, whose Pro Stock career began in 1972, has won a total of six Pro Stock championships, including back-to-back titles in 1992 and 1993, then again in 1998 and 1999, with his sixth and most recent coming in 2001. Johnson was the first Pro Stock driver to eclipse the 180, 190, and 200 mph marks, the latter coming in 1997. In 2001, Johnson was chosen No.7 on the NHRA’s 50 Greatest Drivers list. The Professor has an active streak of at least one final round appearance in 24 consecutive seasons, won at least one race a year from 1982 to 2003, and has surpassed the 800 mark in career-round wins. His intensity and focus are best summed when he lists his hobby as “work.”

 H. A. “Humpy” WheelerWayne Rainey (1960 - )

Born into a racing family in the Los Angeles suburb of Downey, Calif., Wayne Rainey began racing early. His transition from minibikes to junior dirt tracks to the professional ranks was swift, and in 1979, at the age of 18, he joined the American Motorcycle Association (AMA) Grand National circuit. He quickly found his true talent on the paved tracks of the AMA Superbike Series. In his rookie season, Rainey placed third in the final standings, and went on to win championships in 1983 and 1987. Then in 1988, he moved to the 500cc class where he continued his dominance by winning 24 world championship races in six seasons and capturing the World Championship title in 1990, 1991, and 1992.

Artist Bio | Artist Inventory | Corporate Commissions | International Motorsports Hall Of Fame | National Motorsports Press
Program Covers | Private Commissions | Limited Edition Prints | What Is New | Procedures & Fees | Contact | Front Page